Time to Dump Trump

Donald Trump endorses Mitt Romney (Photo: Reuters)

Liberals and the media (is there a difference?) are freaking out about Mitt Romney’s political alliance with Donald Trump.  Suddenly they are alarmed that a politician would hang out with a controversial figure.

Not a guy who blew up buildings in the sixties, not a guy who spouted anti-American sermons in a church, but a man who questions the authenticity of Obama’s birth certificate.

I’ve been very clear about my opinion of the so-called “birther” movement.  I hosted an episode of my podcast during which I debunked many of the birther claims.  These people are delusional ingrates.  Some of them are mentally ill (I’m not a doctor, but I play one on my blog).

Yet for some reason, Donald Trump counts himself among their ranks.  I don’t know why, but he does.  As a reality television star, I suppose he’s just doing it for attention.  Even this Romney fundraising tactic seems like another Trump plea for attention:

Late last week, Mitt Romney’s campaign unveiled its latest fundraising gambit: Donate just $3 and you are eligible to have dinner with reality-TV star Donald Trump – and, oh, yeah, the former Massachusetts governor will be there, too.

It is this attention-seeking that troubles me.  Whether he believes this birther nonsense, I really don’t care.  I don’t get my panties in a bunch because some idiots think Obama was born in Kenya (although to be fair, his own literary agency thought so).

What concerns me is that Romney’s embrace of Trump isn’t helpful.  Trump isn’t doing this for Romney or for the country.  He’s doing it for himself.  What good can come of that?

We already see the media reaction, but what about voters?

27 percent said his endorsement would make them less likely to support a candidate. Only 10 percent said Trump’s support would make them more likely to vote for a candidate. For most people, the endorsement would make no difference.

That’s pretty much a wash, and besides, I don’t think people go to the polls saying “Well, since Trump supports Romney, I think I’ll go with that other guy, even though he sucks it big time,” or conversely, “I guess I’ll vote for Romney since my personal hero Donald Trump endorsed him.”

In other words, the economy matters more than any single endorsement, so not surprisingly, the Trump endorsement isn’t very helpful.  Then why roll out the red carpet for him?

My advice to Romney: dump Trump.  You don’t need to do it publicly, just lay off the “Dinner with Trump” nonsense in the future. It’s a stupid gimmick and probably won’t help you raise that much money.

Keep focused on the issues, keep the media away from faux controversies about your supporters, and keep working hard to defeat Barack Obama.  There are enough of us standing behind you. You don’t need Donald Trump.

For more on this, tune in to “Wednesday’s KaibCast: Romney Should Fire Trump” airing live at 11 PM ET and available on demand the following day.  Check it out!

The opinions expressed above are my own and are not necessarily representative of any organization of which I am a part.  

Comments Off on Time to Dump Trump

Filed under 2012, Controversial, KaibCast, Politics

Comments are closed.