Responding To An Emailer Who Doesn’t Like My Pro-Life Position

Every once in a while I receive an email from a reader who wishes that I’d be sodomized by a prison inmate.  Others just call me names.  Some do both.  My most recent email is below.

Jonah, regarding your article referenced above, first let me say that it is my
most fervent hope that arrogant assholes such as you appear to be one day find
yourselves forced to spend an extended period of time in a cell with Bubba and
his best friend. My guess is that your take on what rape victims should and
should not be allowed to do would be markedly different in the aftermath.

And another thing. What is it with people such as yourself who profess to want
less government control over pretty much everything, except, when it comes to
our personal and/or religious lives? What is up with that?

Jerkoff’s like you are exactly what’s wrong with America today. Mind your own
fucking business and leave other people free to make their own personal
decisions.

The emailer was reacting to something I wrote awhile back.  While I’ll admit it wasn’t one of my better postings, at least I had multiple sources backing me up.

Deciding to take the high road, I responded with a measured explanation of my thinking.

Thanks for the feedback, although I would have preferred a less expletive-laced response.  Having said that, this presents itself as an excellent opportunity to start a dialogue.  My take on abortion and rape victims is based upon my firm belief that life is sacred, even if that life is the result of a horrific act.  Having read accounts from rape victims who decided to abort, I’ve discovered that abortion in such circumstances is oftentimes followed by regret and emptiness.  Unfortunately women often feel pressured to end the pregnancy.

Just as murder is illegal, infanticide should be illegal.  I don’t want the government intruding into our personal lives, except in defending the rights to life, liberty, and property.  The taking of an innocent life is not justified, and it is the responsibility of the government to protect the rights of all, even the unborn.

When it comes to people’s personal decisions, what about the unborn child who will never get a chance at life?  Does someone have the right to end that life?  Is infanticide a ‘personal decision’?  Does an abortion really help the rape victim, or does it only compound the tragedy?

Next time, please leave a comment in the comments section so everyone who visits the site can view your comment.  And my name’s not Jonah.

If you have a comment, feel free to send me an email.  But if you are going to resort to ad hominem attacks and references to prison sodomy, find something better to do with your time.

Comments Off on Responding To An Emailer Who Doesn’t Like My Pro-Life Position

Filed under Controversial, Flashback, Politics, Rights, The Culture

Comments are closed.