Short Takes: 4/8/11

I’m lazy because it’s Friday, so I won’t be writing any long posts about stuff (Oh, well. I got worked up about the budget and had to write about it here).  And yes, I realize that I haven’t done any “Around the World in 80 Words” posts lately, but that’s because I don’t have an intern whom I could foist the responsibility onto.  So here’s the first “Short Takes” in a while.

Story one:

Is Japan hiding a nuclear weapons program inside power plants?  That’s what some guy I never heard of is asking at ‘New American Media,” whatever that is.  I only find this story interesting because I like conspiracy theories.  I’m no Alex Jones, and I don’t normally believe the crazy stories, but I still like reading about them and imagining that they’re real.

For instance, what would happen if it was revealed that Obama was actually born in Kenya?  Of course, he wasn’t, but I like to run that scenario through my brain whenever the President does something I don’t like.  Anyway, Japan might have a nuclear program, which is why they are being so secretive about the Fukushima plant that could explode at any minute and wipe out all of humanity.

Story two:

In response to a lack of a budget, D.C. residents are pledging to dump all their trash into Speaker John Boehner’s lawn. A Facebook event called “If Boehner shuts down the government I am taking my trash to his house” has been created, and as I type there are 5,520 people “attending” the event.  There’s a “left-wing trash” joke in there somewhere, but I’m trying to be civil after calling Nancy Pelosi “granny” and comparing Obama’s “Organizing for America” group to the Gestapo.

This is partially a protest about the budget, but also about D.C.’s lack of control over numerous functions.  The federal government handles trash collection in the District, which pisses off a lot of Washingtonians who want to control their own trash collection.  In response to this, some conservatives has started their own Facebook group, “If Reid shuts down the government I am taking my trash to his house,” but it only has 90 people as of 11:38 a.m. eastern time.

Story three:

I’ll be talking about the budget showdown on Friday night’s KaibCast, which streams live at 6 p.m. eastern and is available on-demand at around 7 p.m. eastern.

This post is much longer than I wanted it to be.  It was supposed to be “short takes.” Oh well, I better resume my intern search.

Comments Off on Short Takes: 4/8/11

Filed under KaibCast, Politics, Short Takes, The World

Comments are closed.