What The Hell Is Going On?

I’ve been thinking a lot about what is happening in Japan.  The whole nuclear thing. You know what I’m talking about.

The quality of information is so bad.  I’m beginning to doubt the whole “nuclear fear-mongering” thing that I was ranting about the other day.  I still think that anti-nuclear power zealots have exaggerated things, but I have concluded that the situation in Japan is very bad.  I might want to dial back some of what I said earlier this week, but my basic beliefs haven’t changed.

Mort Kondracke, the executive editor of Roll Call, basically summarizes what I think in a very good opinion piece. You should check that one out.  Even better, don’t just “check it out,” but actually read the whole thing.  Sometimes I feel that, with the advent of the internet, we have access to the most information ever yet we barely read it.  We just skim.

Anyway, the only good news out of Japan is that a bunch of heroes have emerged, possibly sacrificing their lives to save others:

Who are the “Fukushima 50” — the workers trying to take regain control of Japan’s stricken Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant?

Twitter messages and blog posts by the workers’ families offer an inkling of the “Fukushima 50,” so nicknamed because the 180 employees at the site work in 50-person shifts.

Check out the rest of the LA Times story here.

These people are pretty amazing.

Shameless Plug: Don’t forget to listen to Friday’s KaibCast, LIVE at 6 PM Eastern and available on demand shortly after 6:30 PM Eastern.  Here’s the link. I hope the audio doesn’t get screwed up like it did on Monday and Wednesday.

Comments Off on What The Hell Is Going On?

Filed under KaibCast, Politics, The World

Comments are closed.