Sarah Palin’s WTF Moment

I am sick and tired of defending Sarah Palin from left-wing attacks, in part because the attacks seem petty, but also because Sarah Palin makes herself such an easy target.

Last night the former Governor appeared on Greta van Susteren’s program and critiqued Obama’s SOTU speech.  I agreed with much of what she said, just not how she said it.  Ms. Palin has a strange way of talking, and it makes her sound uneducated and misinformed.  For instance, she stated, in criticism of Obama’s “Sputnik moment” comment:

He [Obama] needs to remember what happened back then with the former communist USSR and their victory in that race to space. Yup, they won, but they also incurred so much debt at the time that it resulted in the inevitable collapse of the Soviet Union.

That quote from Gov. Palin seems to suggest that the debt burden of the Sputnik program is what brought down the Soviet Union.  Of course, the real story is much more complicated than that.  Palin seems to always speak in platitudes and as if she has no idea what she’s talking about, kind of like a Miss Teen USA contestant from a few years back:

Here’s the full interview from Wednesday night’s “On the Record w/ Greta van Susteren” from Fox News:

For most of the interview, I think Sarah Palin did a good job, no worse than any other potential Presidential candidate.  But the quote I mentioned above is an instance of Ms. Palin setting herself up for mocking, as was the confusing mention of a “Spudnut” coffee shop.  I’m not sure what she meant.  Palin needs a speech coach or someone to help her out with her speaking/interview problem.

5 Comments

Filed under Politics, The Media

5 responses to “Sarah Palin’s WTF Moment

  1. laura l

    I’m sorry kids, but she’s an idiot who’s only merit is that she’s pretty. That statement was just incalculably ignorant. We got caught with our pants down in the space-race…but it’s okay because it lead to the breakup of the Soviet Union? And she said it while doing a ‘WTF’ on somebody else. This from someone who ‘reveres’ Reagan, and tries to make comparisons between her media activity and his being an actor. Someone with a brain, please.

    • I don’t think we have to worry. Hopefully she stays on TV and out of the Presidential race. I can stomach her occasional TV appearances, but I would probably go insane if she actually gets the GOP Pres. nomination.

      I go back and forth with my feelings about Palin. When she was announced as McCain’s running mate, I thought “what the hell?” But after he convention speech I thought she was pretty good. But after looking at her interviews with various people and her facebook postings, I have concluded that she is inadequate, to put it nicely.

  2. laura l

    That is putting it nicely. I thought she had potential, at first. And of course you had to defend her when the libs went apesh|t, knowing that a liberal woman with the same resume would have been loved. But it’s been two years. Read a damn book.

  3. joeremi

    I doubt she’s read her (ghostwriter’s) books.

    Ok, THAT’S funny. 😉