Daily Archives: November 5, 2010

Keith Olbermann Suspended Indefinitely

For a full recap, visit mediaite.com and tvnewser.com and johnnydollar.us and insidecablenews.wordpress.com.

Meanwhile, here’s my emergency KaibCast on Olbermann’s suspension:

Comments Off on Keith Olbermann Suspended Indefinitely

Filed under KaibCast, Politics, The Media

A Coming Change, or, A New Hope

This is a short story that I wrote for a class.  I like it, but you might not.  You should read it anyway.  I don’t want to give you any background about the piece because I want to see if you understand or “get” this piece.  I don’t know, maybe it sucks.

It’s nearly winter, and as the tall, graying man walks up the steps to his living quarters, he’s winded.  The stress these past few years has been unbearable.  Not only is he responsible for sending employees into difficult situations oversees, but he’s got a budget in the red, revenues that are shrinking, health care costs that are rising, and bosses who aren’t very happy with his performance.  The recession has not been kind to him.  As he reaches the final step, the man is greeted by his wife, none too pleased that he’s late for dinner.

“Pumski, what took you so long in the office?”

“Just had some issues to deal with.  Working with the communications department on our PR campaign.  So what’s for dinner?”

“I had the cook make your favorite.  Shrimp and grits.  No one else in this house eats it, so they also made us some burgers and fries.  Anyway, the girls are watching Hannah Montana.  Can you get them to the table for me?  I’m exhausted after a long day of working on my initiatives to get people to eat healthier foods.”

“Alright, then.  I’ll get the girls.”

Continue reading

Comments Off on A Coming Change, or, A New Hope

Filed under Controversial, Fiction, Politics, Satire